Teaching Excellence Award

The TMATYC Teaching Excellence Award will be given every other (even) year to an outstanding Tennessee two-year college mathematics instructor.  Awards will be presented at the annual conference.  Each winner will receive a personalized plaque, a 1-year free TMATYC membership, and free TMATYC and AMATYC conference dues for one year.

Criteria for evaluation include the following:  (a) nominees must be current TMATYC members whose primary assigned duties must be delivering mathematics instruction in an associate degree-granting program; (b) nominees must have a minimum of 5-years full-time teaching experience at this level; and (c) individuals can only receive this award one time.

Past Recipients

2006: Judy Ahrens (Pellissippi State CC)

2008: Bob Forrester (Vol State CC)

2010: Rita Sowell (Vol State CC)

2012: Nancy Pevey (Pellissippi State CC) 

2014: Tim Britt (Jackson State CC)

2016: Ed Nichols (Chattanooga State CC)